Shrimp and Sausage Jambalaya

July 23, 2016

I learned so much while I was cooking this recipe.

Before I started cooking, I chopped some pre-cooked sausage into slices and put the sausage slices in a bowl.  While I love using this type of sausage, opening the package was a pain.

The first step is putting 3 tablespoons of oil in a medium or large pot over medium-high heat. When the oil became hot, I added 2 cups of frozen pre-chopped bell peppers, 2 cups of frozen pre-chopped onion and the sausage. Having cerebral palsy means that it takes extra time and extra energy for me to accomplish tasks, such as chopping vegetables, safely and sufficiently. Therefore, I need to prioritize how I’m going to spend my energy when I’m cooking. Using the frozen pre-chopped vegetables not only saves time and energy, but also ensures that my fingers stay where they belong.  Once the chopped onions softened and everything began to brown, I stirred in 2 cups of white rice, 2 tablespoons of minced garlic, ½ teaspoon of cayenne, 1 teaspoon of dried thyme and some salt. In the future, I am going to measure all the ingredients before I start cooking and put them in separate bowls to save time. Measuring ingredients is difficult for me because I struggle with keeping my hand completely steady, especially when I start getting tired. After a minute of cooking, the recipe says to add 2 cups of peeled seeded and chopped tomato to the pot. Instead, I poured in 2 cups of drained canned tomatoes. After cooking the tomato for about five minutes, I poured in four cups of vegetable stock. Thankfully, I was able to open the stock container with little difficulty. After bringing the mixture to a boil, I turned the heat to medium and let it cook, uncovered, for about 20 to 30 minutes or until the rice became tender and the liquid was almost absorbed.

Once the rice became tender,  I added and stirred in the frozen okra and frozen shrimp for about three minutes. I usually buy a 32 oz bag of frozen raw or pre-cooked shrimp that has already been peeled and deveined. I have been to a shrimp boil and it would take me way too long to prepare the shrimp for cooking. After three I minutes, I let the dish rest on low for about ten minutes and then garnished it with cilantro.

This recipe was adapted and originally came from a cookbook entitled, How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Reasons for Great Food by Mark Brittman.

Leave a Reply

