Pad Thai

July 30, 2016

While the instructions say to pour boiling water over 12 ounces of rice noodles and let them soak. I decided that I would decrease the likelihood that I end up in the hospital and change my approach. Instead, I used thin pasta noodles and followed the directions on the package. Note: I found it helpful to use a medium size saucepan. It’s not as heavy and has a handle, which makes it easier to maneuver. In my kitchen, the sink is next to the stove, which makes it easy to slide the saucepan to the sink and then pour the noodle in the colander.

While the pasta was cooking, I put 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a wok. Note: the recipe says to use a large skillet. I chose to use a wok make it easier me to mix the ingredients together and avoid burning the food. Once the oil became hot, I added 4 garlic cloves worth of minced garlic and 10 oz of pre-cooked frozen shrimp that was already deveined and peeled. Once the shrimp was cooked, I transferred the shrimp to a small bowl with a slotted spoon.

Next, I added some leftover chicken, green onions, mushrooms, shredded carrots and drained bean sprouts from a 10oz can. After the vegetables cooked for about 3 minutes, I added the shrimp, noodles and Pad Thai sauce. Then, I cleared some room in the wok and scrambled 3 eggs. Once everything became sufficiently warm, I transferred the pad thai to a plate and used cilantro as a garnish.

I really liked this recipe because it’s easy to make. I actually made this again for myself, using leftovers from the fridge.

This recipe was adapted and originally came from a cookbook entitled, How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Reasons for Great Food by Mark Brittman.

Leave a Reply

