Chili con Carne

This the last post that will be about recipes that I cooked in 2016.

I cooked Chili can Carne during the beginning of November, when it was just starting to get chilly. No matter how you define chili, I definitely recommend this recipe.

First, I put a pound of dried pinto beans in a soup pot with enough water to cover the beans and brought it to a boil. The recipe says to add a whole onion to the beans.  After consulting with my mom, we decided to peel the onion before putting it in with the beans. Not wanting to just chunk the onion in the pot, I used some tongs and lowered the onion to the beans. Once the beans began to soften (30 min to an hour), I sprinkled the them with salt and pepper and let the beans cook for as long as it took them to soften.

While the beans were cooking, I had a wrestling match with the pre- cooked sausage. Three different knives were summoned to duty in addition to a pair of scissors. I first started with a knife cutting the sausage package horizontally, which only resulted in making my dad nervous. End of Round 1. Round 2 started out with a pair of scissors that were quickly halted by the sausage that it was trying to break free. Round 3 was a long, but somewhat successful try. I used a different knife and proceeded to cut the sausage vertically, then horizontally. Then, I squeezed the sausage out of its cage. Victory!  Tired from the match, I chopped half of the sausage in halves and let my mom finish chopping the rest of the sausage. This one task that I’m going to have to reevaluate. I also used  tube of ground beef for this recipe. Knowing that I have trouble breaking down the ground beef while it is cooking in the pan, I chopped the tube of sausage into fourths and squeezed the sausage into a bowl.

Finally, the meat was ready to cook. I splashed some olive oil into the pan and cooked the sausage and ground beef. While I was cooking the meat, I checked the beans and found that the water in the beans pot had evaporated, so I added two more cups of water. I added two teaspoons of chili powder to the meat and threw it in with the beans. Along with the chili powder, I added a half a bag of chopped onion, a cup of vegetable stock and a teaspoon of ground cumin, a ½ a teaspoon of dried oregano and a tablespoon of minced garlic. After bringing the chili to a boil, I covered the pot and turned the heat down to low. While the chili continued to cook for another 15 minutes, I noticed that the chili needed some more water. After the chili was done, I added some more chili to make it more spicy and served it with some rice, cilantro and cheese. My family really enjoyed this recipe and I hope you do too.

This recipe was adapted and originally came from a cookbook entitled, How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Reasons for Great Food by Mark Brittman.

Leave a Reply

