Three-Pork Soup

Week Two

Before I started cooking, I measured out the ingredients and put them in my preparation bowls. I started with slicing a 1/4 pound of bacon. You can also use a 1/4 pound of diced salt pork. I started using a plain edge knife, but I was having trouble cutting through the bacon because it was sliding around the cutting board. Barrier-Free Tip: I decided to try a pair of scissors instead and that worked better. The recipe calls for a 1/4 pound of diced ham. It suggests using Serrano or prosciutto ham, but I decided to get generic ham that was already diced. I went ahead and put the ham in a preparation bowl.  I got another cutting board out and sliced about a 1/2 pound of pre-cooked sausage into quarts and put the sausage in a preparation bowl. You can also use smoked chorizo sausage, if you prefer.

Next, I started chopping the potatoes, turnips, and kale.  The recipe calls for a 1/4 pound of turnips, peeled and diced. I tried chopping the turnip in half before peeling it to get a better grip, but I couldn’t get the knife through the turnip. My dad stepped in and helped me chop and peel the turnip. I do have an adapted peeler, but it would have taken a lot of energy and time if I peeled the whole turnip by myself.  While my dad was finishing chopping the turnips, I started chopping 1/2 pound of potatoes. Barrier-Free Tip: You can use any type of potatoes you want, but I chose red potatoes because I knew I wouldn’t have to peel them.   Then, I tore off the kale greens from the stems. The recipe calls for small head of cabbage that has been cored but shredded, but I chose to use kale. The recipe also calls for 1 sliced onion, but I decided to use frozen chopped onions.  By the time, I finished chopping all the vegetables and meat, it had been an hour.

First, I put 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a soup pot and waited until it became hot. Then, I added the ham and bacon into the pot. After the bacon started to brown, I added the potatoes, turnips, onions and 6 cups of chicken stock. Instead of chicken stock, you can also use water. I let the soup cook for about 20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. Then, I added the sausage, kale and a cup of white beans and let the soup cook until the sausage became heated through and the kale softened. I seasoned the soup with salt and pepper, then served the soup. I made some cornbread from a mix to go with the soup.

My family like this recipe and it went well with the cornbread. They did suggest that I add more vegetables in the soup, such as carrots and mushrooms.

This recipe was adapted and originally came from a cookbook entitled, How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Reasons for Great Food by Mark Brittman.

Remember to subscribe and come back for more recipes.

 

Leave a Reply

