Playing It Safe with Buffalo Wings

Week Three

My family loves wings and blue cheese, especially when they come from Wings N’ More. The only problem is that the nearest Wings N’ More is four hours away and no nearby restaurant seems to compare.  So, granting my parents’ request, I decided to make wings and homemade blue cheese.

The tale starts with me cruising the internet, looking for a recipe. Should I use a broiler, fryer, or oven? I decided the oven was probably the safest bet. I just couldn’t see myself cooking with a fryer without immediately looking towards my parents to take charge of the frying process. The broiler could have worked, but because I’m planning to use a toaster oven to cook most of my meals once I venture out on my own, I decided to use the oven.

Barrier-Free Tip: I used frozen raw wings that have already been cut and separated. It was more expensive than getting fresh wings, but it saved a lot of time and energy that more than likely would have led to the conclusion that I cannot separate wings safely. The recipe calls for 20 wings, but the bag had more. While the wings were defrosting in the microwave, I mixed 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour, a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, garlic powder and salt in a mixing bowl.  Barrier-Free Tip: I found that I have trouble pouring the salt and cayenne pepper into the measuring spoon. The cayenne pepper clumped together and the salt container was too big and heavy for me to have total control while pouring. I ended up pouring too much into the ½ teaspoon. I’m so glad I put a plate underneath the measuring spoon while I was pouring or else I would have made a bigger mess. The garlic powder worked great because I could put the ½ teaspoon into the container and scoop the seasoning out. In the future, when I buy seasoning I will look into getting containers similar to the garlic powder container.

wings2

The recipe says to put the flour and wings in a plastic bag and then shake it. Instead, I chose to flip the wings in the flour mixture to save my energy. After the wings became sufficiently coated, I laid them on a baking sheet with aluminum foil, that has been greased with cooking spray.   Once all the wings have been coated with the flour mixture, I covered the wings with plastic wrap and put them in the fridge. The recipe says to leave the wings, for at least an hour. I left them there for about four hours, so that I could do some errands.

Once I returned home. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. The, I whisked 1/2 cup of melted butter and a 1/2 cup of Frank’s Red Hot sauce in a large bowl. I dipped most of the chicken wings and returned them to the baking sheet, before I ran out of sauce. I also noticed that despite my best effort the wings weren’t completely covered in sauce. So, I decided to make another batch of wing sauce. I finished dipping the rest of the wings and then used a silicone brush to put a second coat of wing sauce on the wings. Finally, I put the wings in the oven for forty-five minutes. I turned the wings over when they were half way done cooking. Flipping over the wings was a little time consuming for me, so my dad helped me. Both of my parents helped me put the wings in and out of the oven. Barrier-Free tip: If I had not been cooking for three people, I would have used the toaster oven to cook the wings. I love using the toaster oven because it is smaller and I can easily transfer the baking sheet to the counter. After the wings returned to the oven, I put started cooking frozen fries in the toaster oven.

While the wings and fries were cooking, I made the blue cheese dip. I used a spoon to fill a 1/2 cup with sour cream and then a 2/4 cup with mayonnaise. Then, I used the same method to put them in a mixing bowl. I added 1 small clove worth of minced garlic and a tablespoon of lemon juice I stirred the ingredients with a whisk. The recipe then calls for 1-2 tablespoons of milk, depending on your desired consistency. Barrier-Free Tip: Pouring a full, never been opened, half gallon of milk to fill a tablespoon, screamed a messy disaster. Instead, I got out a small bowl and poured a little bit of milk in. Then, I scooped up the milk with a tablespoon and poured it into the mixture. I mixed in 4 ounces of blue cheese and then it was ready to serve.

By the time the blue cheese was done, so was the wing and fries. Unfortunately, the wings became stuck on the aluminum foil and my dad helped me scraped them off. My dad suggested to use wax paper instead of aluminum foil when I put the wings in the fridge. Then, use aluminum foil when I put the wings in the oven. My mom put the wings in the broiler for a few minutes, so that the wings would become crispier.

My parents and I really liked the wings. They weren’t spicy, but still good. The blue cheese was good as well, but we agreed it could have been better. My mom suggested that next time we make a blue cheese dip recipe that has chopped celery.  If you have a blue cheese dip recipe that you like, feel free to share.

The Buffalo Wings recipe can be found at AllRecipes.com and the blue cheese recipe can be found at FoodandWine.com

Leave a Reply

