Juggling Turkey Piccata and Roasted Red Potatoes

This week’s meal was turkey piccata and roasted red potatoes. You will notice that we also had sausage and fried okra. A family friend recently went on a hinting trip and gave me some turkey as well as some onion from his garden. There wasn’t enough turkey for the three of us, so I decided to focus on the turkey and red potatoes while my parents cooked the okra and sausage.

The first step was to cut the turkey crosswise into 1/2 inch pieces, though I didn’t worry too much about being precise. I opted out of pounding the turkey strips until they are no less than an 1/8 of an inch thick, like the recipe wanted me to. After seasoning the strips with salt and pepper, I dumped a 1/2 cup of flour in a small bowl and coated the chicken strips with flour.  Barrier-Free Tip: Once the turkey strips were sufficiently coated with flour, I had to transfer them to the stove. Instead of carrying the cutting board with the turkey, using a plate lessens the chances of me dropping the chicken on the floor.

After preparing the ingredients for the red potatoes with onions and mushrooms. I put half of a container of sliced  mushrooms and three cups worth sliced onions in preparation bowls. The third preparation bowl had 1 teaspoon of pepper, two teaspoons of salt, a 3/4 teaspoon of dried parsley, a 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil, garlic powder and onion powder.

For the turkey piccata, I heated two tablespoons of olive oil and four tablespoons of butter in a sauce pan. Once the butter and olive oil became hot, I laid the turkey strips in the sauce pan  for about a minute on each side and then put them in the toaster oven to keep warm.

By then, I realized that allocating my time was becoming difficult. To ensure that both the potatoes and the turkey piccata would be done around the same time, I let my mom offered to finish the potatoes since I did the prep work.

Returning to the turkey piccata dish, I reduced the heat to low, put a few onion slices in  the sauce pan that I used for the turkey. Though the recipe calls for 2 tablespoon of shallots, I used a few slices of sautéed onions. Once the onions were becoming translucent, I added a 1/2 cup of white wine and a 1/3 cup of freshly squeezed lemon juice. Barrier-Free Tip: Did you know that wine comes in a boxed container? I don’t like to drink wine, but  I’m glad that if I ever want to cook with wine again, I can open the package. For the lemon juice, I used bottled lemon juice. I mixed in two more tablespoons of butter and the sauce was done.

Before drizzling the sauce over the turkey, I  had a taste and it was too lemony to serve. After thinking about it, I realized that there must be a difference between bottled lemon juice and freshly squeezed lemon juice. My family liked the turkey piccata and  the roasted red potatoes. Just so you know, spicy mustard goes really well with the turkey picatta.

Next time, I’ll to get the potatoes going first, then put a lid on the dish to keep it warm, while I work on the turkey piccata. I could also cook a side dish that can be left alone for a long time. That way I am not dividing my attention too much at once.

The turkey piccata recipe  from the Food Network website and the roasted red potatoes recipe came from food.com.

Leave a Reply

