The Pie May Not Have Been Pretty, but It Sure Was Good!

Week Five

In honor of Super Bowl Sunday, I decided to take a break from cooking dinner and make a pie. Dad requested a chocolate pie that wasn’t made from instant pudding. Challenge wholeheartedly accepted.

First, I laid out a raw pie crust onto a pie platter. I had to roll it out, which ended a few tears at the edge of the pie crust. I smoothed the pie crust with my fingers to repair the tears. Then, I used a fork to punch holes in the crust.  I couldn’t get to the toaster oven, so my parents helped me get the pie crust in and out of the oven. Barrier-Free Tip: Next time, I’m going to get an Oreo crust or Graham Cracker crust that is ready to go.

I combined 1-1/2 cup of flour, a 1/4 cup of cornstarch and a 1/4 teaspoon of salt in a medium-sized bowl. Barrier-Free Tip: I always put a plate underneath the measuring tool that I’m using to catch any excess ingredients.

I poured 3 cups of whole milk in measuring cups. The recipe says to mix in four whole egg yolks. After watching my mom separate the egg yolk. I didn’t even want to attempt to separate the egg yolk. I had thought we owned a tool to help me, but it turns out we do not. My mom put the egg yolks in a preparation bowl for me.

Then, I attempted to chop 6-1/2 ounces of bittersweet chocolate. First, I attempted to use a knife to chop the chocolate, but it would not go through. Then, I tried to separate the bricks of chocolate with my hands, but it was taking too long. So, my mom took over. I’m going to have to think about how to overcome this barrier.

I poured the sugar mixture into a medium saucepan and whisked the mixture together. Then, I mixed in the milk and egg yolks.  I stirred the ingredients together over medium heat until it came to a boil and start to thicken.  I took the saucepan from the stove. Then, I used the whisk to stir in the chocolate, 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons of butter until everything became combined.

The saucepan was still hot and I needed to get the pie in the fridge soon, so my mom helped me transfer the pudding to the pie crust. After the pie chilled in the fridge for a few hours it was ready to serve. The recipe says to let it chill for four hours. I did not let it chill for that long, but it was still amazing. My family loved this pie, especially with Reddi-wip.

This recipe came from Ree’s blog, The Pioneer Woman.

Leave a Reply

