Chicken Tortilla Soup

Week Five

Happy Valentines Day!

This week I made chicken tortilla soup. I have been eating it for lunch all week and it is really good. The recipe came from one of my mom’s recipe books. Since I already knew that my family likes this soup, I went ahead and doubled it. 

First, I put 2 pounds of skinless, boneless chicken breasts in a pot over medium-heat. My mom cut them in half, so that the chicken would cook faster. I cooked the chicken with 2 tablespoon of olive oil, 4 cloves of minced garlic and a 12 ounce bag of frozen chopped onions.

Once the chicken became barely cooked through, I added the other ingredients. I added 16 ounces of canned green chilies, 6 cups of diced tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of cumin powder and four cups of chicken broth. I also put in a can of corn and a can of pinto beans. If you don’t double the recipe, use your best judgement on how much beans and corn you want in the soup. Then, I added a handful of cilantro.  I let the soup simmer for 20 minutes.

tortillasoup2fixed

After the soup was done simmering,  I  reduced the heat to low and used tongs to transfer the chicken to a bowl. Barrier-Free Tip: I put the chicken in a bowl , so that it would be easier for me to transfer the chicken to and from the cutting board and pot. Once I reached the cutting board, I used a knife and fork to shred the chicken and put the chicken back in the bowl. Barrier-Free Tip: Using a fork to hold the chicken still, gives me more control of the chicken and lessens the chance of cutting myself. Then, I brought the bowl back to the stove and dumped the chicken into the pot.

tortillasoup3fixed

After letting the soup stew for an hour, it was ready to serve. I crumbled a few tortilla chip and sprinkled some cheese and cilantro in my bowl of soup. You can also add some sour cream or avocado.  I really like cooking this recipe because it doesn’t require a lot of prep work and you can make enough to eat off it for the whole week.

Leave a Reply

