Toaster Troubles and Chicken Chardon

Week Six

Knowing that it takes me longer than most to prepare food before it goes in the oven, I decided to wait a while before I turned on the toaster oven and set it to 375 degrees F. 

In a small bowl, I mixed an egg, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. I set a measuring cup on a small plate and poured bread crumbs in the cup. Then, I poured the cup of bread crumbs in another bowl. Using the same method, I poured in an 1/2 cup of Parmesan Cheese in the same bowl. Then, I mixed the the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese with a teaspoon of garlic powder.

chicken-chardon2fix

I melted a 1/4 cup of butter in the microwave and stirred in a 1/2 tablespoon of lime juice. Barrier-Free Tip: When I made the Turkey Picatta, I learned that bottled lemon juice has a much stronger taste than fresh lemon juice. To avoid an overpowering lemon taste, I decided to add a 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice instead of a tablespoon. I poured 2/3 of the butter mixture into a glass pan and tilted the pan until the butter covered the bottom of the pan. I spread a pound of already sliced mushrooms in the bottom of the pan.

I decided to go ahead and turn on the toaster oven. I chopped the chicken breast in half and used a silicone brush to cover a piece of chicken with the egg mixture.  Then,  I dipped the piece of chicken in the bread crumb mixture. I repeated this process for five more pieces of chicken.

chicken-c4fix

I placed the chicken on top of the mushrooms, Then, I drizzled the rest of the butter mixture, and sprinkled some of the bread crumb mixture and a teaspoon of parsley.  Unfortunately, the pan was too heavy for me to life for the length of time it would require me to get the pan into the oven. So, my dad helped me get the pan in the oven. Next time, I might try  to use a smaller pan. I let the chicken cook for 45 minutes.

While the chicken was baking, I put some green beans in a colander and rinsed them, Then, I used a pair of scissors to cut the ends off. Barrier-Free Tip: By using a pair of scissors to cut the ends off the green beans, I am given more control. I put a inch of water in a saucepan and brought it to a boil.  Once the water started boiling, I transferred the green beans to the saucepan and let the green beans steam for ten minutes.

chicken-chardon1

The chicken and mushrooms were delicious. I served the meal with leftover side dishes that were in the fridge. This recipe came from allrecipes.com.

Leave a Reply

