BBQ Chicken and Jalapeno Corn with Roasted Red Potatoes

Week Eight

This week I used the slow cooker to make barbecue chicken. First, I cut three skinless, boneless chicken breasts in half using a big, sharp, non-serrated knife. It was so easy. Barrier-Free Tip: Knives that are big and sharp have become my greatest ally. 

bbqchicken4-fix

After laying the chicken in the crock-pot, I poured in a 1/2 cup of Italian salad dressing, a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and a 17.5 ounce bottle of barbecue sauce. The recipe calls for 12 ounces of barbecue, but I misjudged how much I was pouring.  Once all of the ingredients were in the crock-pot, I set the temperature on high and let chicken cook for four and a half hours.

bbqchicken3-fixed

While the chicken was cooking,  I started the potatoes. Barrier-Free Tip: I have learned that if I can substitute regular potatoes for red potatoes, then I should go ahead and do it. They are way easier for me to chop and I don’t have to peel them. I laid aluminum foil on top of  a small pan and greased it. After washing the potatoes, I used a bowl to help me transfer them from the sink to the cutting board. I chopped each of the potatoes in half and used the flat side as leverage when I continued to chop the potatoes into thirds. Once the potatoes were chopped, I laid them on the pan, sprinkled salt and pepper, and drizzled some olive oil on top of them. Barrier-Free Tip: Using a silicone brush helped me ensure that the potatoes were sufficiently coated in olive oil.  I put the potatoes in the toaster oven for thirty minutes at 450 degrees.

bbqchicken5-fixed

After the potatoes were in the oven, I started the jalapeno corn. First, I heated a 12 ounce bag of frozen corn in the microwave and followed the directions printed on the bag. While the corn was in the microwave, I sliced a tablespoon of jalapenos and dumped them into a bowl. Then, I cut two tablespoons off of a package of cream cheese and squeezed it into the bowl and added a 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic.  After heating the cream cheese mixture in the microwave for three minutes, I mixed in the corn and a tablespoon of cilantro.

bbqchicken2-fixed

By the time the corn was done, so were the potatoes. I took off the crock pot lid and shredded the chicken with a fork and knife.

My family really liked this recipe. This is a good recipe to make during the week because I can put the ingredients in the crock-pot in the morning or during lunch and let it cook for the rest of the day. It is also a good way for me to spare my energy and focus on cooking other things, while the crock pot is cooking the main dish.

What are your favorite crock pot recipes? I’m always happy to listen to any suggestions. Be sure to click the follow button on the right.

The barbecue chicken recipe came from allrecipes.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

