Conquering Backstrap Venison

Week Nine                                        

This week I cooked marinated backstrap venison with mashed potatoes, and green beans and mushrooms.

Using a sharp knife, I cut 1 to 1-1/2 pounds of deer meat into 1 to 1-1/2 inch slices on a cutting board. 

backstrap1-fixed

This recipe calls for a little bit of several liquids for the marinade, which is tricky for me because I can’t always maintain a steady hand when pouring liquids. Since the canola oil comes in a big bottle, pouring it straight in the tablespoon could potentially make a huge mess. So, I poured some in a measuring cup and scooped three tablespoon of canola oil into another measuring cup. In addition to the canola oil, I added a tablespoon of lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, two teaspoons of minced garlic and a 1/2 teaspoon of ground pepper. After stirring the ingredients together for a few minutes, the marinade was ready.

backstrap2fix

After putting the slices of venison in a Ziploc bag, I poured the marinade over the meat. To avoid creating a mess in the fridge, I set the bag of venison on a plate and then let the meat sit in the refrigerator for about 4 hours. After about three hours, I started cutting the ends off the green beans, alternating between using my hands and scissors. Once all of the ends were off, I put the green beans in a colander and rinsed the green beans.  I placed the green beans in a pan filled with an inch of water and let them boil for ten minutes. Once the green beans were cooked, I drained the excess water and rinsed the mushrooms. In the pan, I melted some butter and sautéed the mushrooms and green beans with minced garlic. After the mushrooms and green beans were done, I turned off the fire and put a lid on the pan to keep the vegetables warm.

backstrap3edited

After taking the venison out of the fridge, I used a colander to drain the excess marinade and placed the venison in a bowl to transfer to the stove. I dumped the venison onto the pan over medium heat and let the meat cook, flipping the slices over every once in a while. Once the meat became cooked through, I used a spatula to place the venison on a platter.

backstrap4edited

I was a bit nervous about making this recipe because I don’t have a lot of experience with venison, but it tasted delicious.  The only problem was that it was tough to eat, so I had to use a sharp knife to cut it. One of the things, I have to think about when I make a meal or order food is if I will be able to eat it safely without making a mess. The key is knowing my limitations and finding a way to get around obstacles. For example, I rarely order a steak when I’m not with my family because I know that if they’re not there to help me cut up the steak into bite-size pieces, then it will take me a long time to finish the meal. For instance, if I am at a restraint with my friends, I’ll order something easier to chew, such as a Salisbury steak, to maintain my independence.

I really liked the marinade because it was so easy to make and complimented the venison very well. We already had mashed potatoes in the fridge, so I served them with the venison. Cooking the green beans before the venison worked well because I could focus on one dish at a time and still keep the food warm.

The original recipe for backstrap venison came from Food.com.

 

Leave a Reply

