Making Meatloaf

Week Ten

I made meatloaf this weekend to eat off of this week.  I used the recipe that is found on the back of the McCormick meatloaf seasoning. 

I put a pound of ground turkey and a pound of ground beef in a bowl. Then, I added a 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, 1/2 cup of milk and a package of McCormick meatloaf seasoning. I also cracked two eggs in a preparation bowl and poured the yoke into the mixing bowl. Barrier-Free Tip: I like cracking eggs in a separate bowl first because sometimes my hands are not very cooperative and the shell gets mixed in with the yoke. I would rather fish out the egg shell out of the preparation bowl than mixed up with other ingredients in the mixing bowl.  I also added 1/4 bag of frozen chopped onions.
meatloaf1

Once the ingredients were in the bowl, I used a “Mix ‘N Chop” by Pampered Chef to break apart the frozen onions and my hands to mix up the ingredients.  I sprayed an 8″x8″ metal baking pan with cooking spray. Barrier- Free Tip: After spraying a pan with cooking spray, I have noticed some areas don’t get sprayed at all while some areas get sprayed too much. So, I use a paper towel to spread the cooking spray evenly inside the pan.  After the ingredients became sufficiently mixed, I used a spoon to transfer the meat to the pan. Once all the meat was in the pan, I used my hands to shape it into a loaf. I squeezed 1/2 cup of ketchup into a measuring bowl and used a spoon to help pour it out over the meat loaf.

I pre-heated the toaster over oven to 375 degrees and put the meat loaf in the oven for an hour. I love using the toaster oven because I can easily transfer the food from the oven to the counter without having to worry about walking across the kitchen with a hot dish or reaching high and not getting a good grip on the pan.

The meat loaf was delicious and easy to make. This is a great dish to make over the weekend and keep it in the fridge to eat over the week.

 

Leave a Reply

