Chicken Marsala Without the Marsala

Week 11

I decided to do a crock-pot meal this week. After a quick google search on “chicken crock-pot meals”. I chose to make Chicken Marsala.

First, I sprayed the inside of the crock-pot with cooking spray and used a paper towel to spread it around. Then, I placed two cloves worth of minced garlic and a tablespoon of Carnola oil. Then, I placed seven boneless chicken breasts in to the crock-pot as well as 2 8 0z packages of whole baby Bell mushrooms and a cup of chicken broth. I put the mushrooms in a colander and sprayed them with water. Barrier-Free Tip: You can choose to use a cup of Marsala wine instead of chicken broth. I chose to use chicken broth because it is easier to open with the aid of a jar opener. I let the chicken cook on high for about three to four hours instead of on low for five or six.

chickenmarsala4fixed

After the chicken was cooked through, I used tongs to transfer the chicken on a plate. Then, I mixed a 1/2 cup of water and a 1/4 of cornstarch together in a preparation bowl. I had a difficult time using the 1/4 cup to fish out the cornstarch, so I put the 1/4 cup on a small plate and used and 1/8 cup to transfer the cornstarch to the 1/4 cup. Then, I dumped the mixture to the liquid in the cooker, stirred it in and let it cook for about 15 minutes until it started to thicken.

chickenmarsala3 fixed

While the liquid was cooking, I rinsed off cauliflower that came from the bag. Once the liquid had thickened, I put the chicken back in and then set the temperature to low. As the chicken was heating up, I boiled a 1/2 inch of water in a pot  and cooked rice in the microwave. One the water started to boil in the pot, I steamed some cauliflower.

I laid the chicken on a bed of rice using tongs and used the cauliflower as a side dish. My family liked this recipe. We had more than enough to eat off this week.

chickenmarsala2 fixed

This recipe came from Betty Crocker.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

