Fried Catfish

This week’s meal was fried catfish with a side of tater tots and beans.

After putting the tater tots in the toaster oven for about thirty minutes, I mixed one and a half cup of cornmeal and a half cup of flour into a large mixing bowl and poured a cup of buttermilk in a separate bowl.. After laying out a fillet of catfish on a platter, I sprinkled salt, pepper and creole seasoning on both sides of the fish.

catfish1fix

Then, I dunked the fish into the buttermilk.

catfish2fixed

Finally, I covered the fish with the flour and cornmeal mixture, which consisted of a 1/2 cup of flour and 1 1/2 cup of cornmeal.

catfish3fixed

 

Seeing how big the first fillet was once it was done, I began to cut the fillet in half, so that the fish would be easier for me to control while I was frying the fish. Therefore, before coating the rest of the fish in seasoning, buttermilk and cornmeal, I went ahead and sliced all of the fillets in half. By the time the fish fillets were ready to fry, the tater trots were done. To keep them warm, I left the tater tots in the oven.

After pouring in about a 1/4 inch of carnola oil into a pan, I turned the heat to high. I used a tray that is attached to my walker to transfer the plate of catfish to the stove and left the walker in front of the stove’s knobs to form an L-shape.

catfish walkerfix

Once the oil was hot enough, I set three halves of catfish into the pan. I started off using tongs to move the fish around, but ended up using a spatula. After about three minutes, I flipped the fish over. Barrier-Free Tip; Using the edge of the pan to get good control over the fish with the spatula helped me. Once the other side was done, I used the same method to get the fish on the spatula and lay it on the plate. Unfortunately, there was a substantial amount of fried batter in the pan that had to be fished out.  I repeated this process until all the fish had been fried. The popping sound from frying the fish startled me little bit and I asked my mom to stand next to me. But, I was able to cook the fish independently.

catfish5fixed

One of the fillets didn’t get completely cooked because it was folded over, but after nuking it in the microwave it was fine. Next time instead of piling all of the fish on one plate, I might spread them out among two or three plates. Also, I underestimated how long it would take me to prepare the fish. I’m not sure that I am ready to fry fish without my parents on stand by. But, with a little bit of of practice, I am confident that I’ll be comfortable making this recipe in my own kitchen.

The fish turned out to be delicious. In addition to beans, my parents had hushpuppies and coleslaw with the fish. This recipe came form the Spruce.

Leave a Reply

