Attempting to Chop with Pad Thai

Week 13

This week I made Pad Thai. I love this recipe because I can choose what I want to put into the dish. I can turn this into an easy weeknight meal or a weekend meal. 

I started cooking a little earlier than I normally do because I wanted to try chopping vegetables. First, I cooked some pasta. Then, I got started on the vegetables. The carrots gave me the most grief.  After washing a carrot , I tried using my adaptive peeler. I got out a preparation bowl to catch the carrot pieces. Aside for the peeler breaking off the handle, it worked out fine. The second time it broke off I got out the mini carrots. Chopping the baby carrots worked out great! I was a little nervous at times because I don’t have much experience chopping something that can move easily and that is that small.

pad thai4 fixed

 

Once the carrots were done, I chopped a head of broccoli and an onion.  As I was chopping the vegetables, I used the microwave to defrost the chicken. Once the vegetables were done and I put some water chestnuts, baby corn and mushrooms ready to cook, I cut up the chicken into small chunks.

Finally, it was time to cook. First, I cooked the chicken and shrimp in olive oil. My dad had to help me discard the extra water from the frozen shrimp. After the shrimp and chicken were cooked, I transferred them to a bowl using a slotted spoon. My dad had to help me discard the extra water from the frozen shrimp.

pad thai 1fix

Then, I started cooking the broccoli and carrots. After a few minutes, I added the water chestnuts,  baby corn and mushrooms, I let them cook with the lid on, occasionally stirring.  After the vegetables were done cooking, I added the pasta, pad thai sauce, bean sprouts from a can  and the meat. Barrier-Free Tip: The recipe has instructions to make your own pad thai sauce, but I chose to just buy some already made. I like using the wok for this recipe because it is easier for me to mix everything up without accidentally pushing the food out onto the stove. I had some trouble mixing the ingredients because  the amount of ingredients made the pad thai heavy. The only way to make this easier is to make less food. Once I live on my own, I can cut down on how much food I make.

padthai2fixed

I’m glad that I took the time to the vegetables this time. It did reaffirm that if I need to cut down on time, frozen pre-chopped vegetables are the way to go. But, it also let me know that I can do it if I have to. My family enjoyed this recipe and it was good with the frozen egg rolls and cream cheese wontons we bought. The original recipe came from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (2008).

Leave a Reply

