Arroz con Pollo – Size Matters

Week 14

Before I started this blog, I made Arroz con Pollo and black beans for my family. We liked it so much that I decided to make it again.  

First, I poured a cup and a half of rice into a preparation bowl. I poured a little it of olive oil into a large skillet over medium high, Then, I sautéed a 12oz bag worth of chopped frozen onion and sprinkled a little bit of salt and pepper. While the onions were cooking, I poured chicken stock into a 2- cup and a 1-cup measuring cup and heated the stock in the microwave.  Also, I poured a 12 ox can of diced tomatoes into a colander.

Once the onions were done, I poured in the rice into the skillet and let it cook. The recipe says to  let it cook for a minute, but because I had to take the chicken thighs out of the packaging it took a little longer. Barrier-Free Tip: I chose to use thigh for this recipe because they are easier for me to flip and transfer back and for from a plate to the skillet.   After making sure that the rice was spread out evenly, I nestled the chicken onto the rice, dumped the tomatoes onto the riced and poured in the chicken stock. I brought the chicken stock to a boil and let the chicken cook for twenty minutes. After about ten minutes, I used a pair of tongs to flip the chicken over.

arrozconpollotake2-2

While the chicken was cooking, I got the ingredients ready to make the black beans, First, I got out another colander and drained two cans of black beans. Then I got out the rest of the ingredients. By the time, the chicken was done, the beans were ready to be cooked. I set the heat on low and left the chicken on the stove for about fifteen minutes.

I melted a 1/2 a stick of butter in a skillet. Once the butter melted, I poured in the beans and used a potato masher to mash up the beans. Then, I added 3/4 of a bag of frozen chopped onions a tablespoon of cumin and a 1/4 of a teaspoon of cayenne. I stirred and mashed the beans until the ingredients were mixed in and the beans were the consistency that I wanted them to be. I let the beans cook for about five minutes until the onions were cooked through. By the timer the beans were done, so was the Arroz con Pollo. I sprinkled some cilantron on the chicken

This is one of my favorite recipes to make. Even though, I cooked the rice a bit longer than I intended it turned out fine.  I like using chicken thighs for this recipe because they are small enough that I can flip them easily and I don’t have to worry about the chicken not getting cooked through.

The original recipe came from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (2008).

Leave a Reply

