Mushroom Soup

One of my favorite soups is cream of mushroom. The only thing is that it has next to no calories, so be sure to use this soup as a side dish.

Though the recipe asks for a pound of button mushrooms that have been trimmed and sliced,  I just bought a pound of sliced white mushrooms. After combining the mushrooms, a 1/2 cup of white rice and 4 cups of chicken stock in a medium-sized pot, I brought the mixture to a boil, lowered the heat and let it cook for about fifteen minutes. Once the rice and vegetables became tender, I turned off the stove and let the mixture cool of. Using my tray and walker, I transferred the soup to the counter where the blender was set up. Alternating between a spoon and a ladle, I scooped the all of the soup into the blender. Barrier-Free Tip: To avoid making a huge mess, I decided against pouring the soup directly from the pot to the blender, and used a ladle and spoon to transfer the soup into the blender instead.

Once the soup was done puréeing,  I made a few attempts to detach the blender, until I was successful. The trick was to get a good grip on the blender.   After pouring the mushroom mixture back into the pot and reheating the soup, I poured in 4 oz of whipping cream along with a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

This was an easy recipe because it only had a few ingredients and I was able to just pour everything into the pot without measuring anything out.

This recipe came from  Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (2008).

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

